VTA Board

The Board is responsible to the Association Council for oversight of operations of the Association.

Board members are elected by members of the VTA Association Council representatives and comprise  Board Chairs, a Non-Executive Board Member, and three CEO Members.

Allison Jenvey OAM (Board Chair, Wodonga TAFE) – Chair VTA

Michael Gorton AM  (Board Chair, Holmesglen)

Frances Coppolillo (CEO, Melbourne Polytechnic)

Laura Macpherson (CEO, TAFE Gippsland) 

Tony Nippard (Non Executive Board Member, Box Hill Institute)

Liam Sloan (Provost, Federation University Australia)

Allison Jenvey OAM

Board Chair, Wodonga TAFE

Michael Gorton AM

Board Chair, Holmesglen

Frances Coppolillo

Chief Executive Officer, Melbourne Polytechnic

Tony Nippard

Board Member, Box Hill Institute

Laura Macpherson

Chief Executive Officer, TAFE Gippsland

Liam Sloan

Provost, Federation University Australia

Allison Jenvey

Allison is a current sitting member of the Board, after spending 3 years as Chair. 

Allison joined the Wodonga TAFE Board in 2015 and has been serving in the position of Board Chair since 2016.

Allison has been a Director at ATS Partners since 2001, having worked in the Practice as an accountant since 1996, offering taxation and financial advisory services in the Wodonga region. Allison has significant governance experience on local Boards and Committees including as a Director on the Albury Wodonga Health Board and served as Chair of its Audit and Risk Committee for four years. Allison was also previously President of the Wodonga Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Baranduda Fields Governance Groups and the Rural  Housing Network Board.

Michael Gorton AM

Elected to VTA Board in 2023.

Michael is an experienced commercial lawyer and is currently Principal and Partner at Russell Kennedy Lawyers. He holds a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce and has over 35 years’ experience in legal practice, mainly focussed on the health sector. He publishes widely in health and legal association journals and is often asked to address public and private companies, government and non-government organisations.

Michael has extensive governance experience and currently chairs the boards of Alfred Health and Wellways Australia. He also chairs the Mental Health and Wellbeing Act Expert Advisory Group for the Victorian Department of Health. Previously, he has been a Board member of a range of health and human rights agencies, professional associations and community organisations and has served as chair of major committees and expert panels. Michael is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Taxation Institute of Australia and is an Honorary Fellow of Royal Australasian College of Surgeons and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. He was made a Member in the Order of Australia in 2004.

Michael joined Holmesglen’s Board in August 2017 and commenced as Chair in March 2023. He is a member of all the Board’s committees.

Frances Coppolillo

Frances Coppolillo has an extensive history with Melbourne Polytechnic, most recently as Deputy CEO where she has led the College, Schools and a range of student focussed departments since September 2014. 

Prior to this, Ms Coppolillo was the Deputy Director Programs – Teaching and Learning, and has extensive experience in education, joining the VET sector as a teacher in 1986. Through her career progression, she has held a range of teaching, management and leadership positions including fourteen years as the Associate Director of Melbourne Polytechnic’s Faculty of Further Education.

Ms Coppolillo was also a founding director on the Board of the TAFE Development Centre (now the VET Development Centre), and has led projects in learning resource development, and best practice projects in student engagement and retention.

Frances has been a member of a number of regional development committees including Northern RDA and Local Learning and Employment Networks. Her qualifications include Bachelor of Education and Masters in Social Sciences (Policy and Management).

Ms Coppolillo is the first female CEO of Melbourne Polytechnic, formerly NMIT.

Tony Nippard

Board Member since 2021 (Ministerial Nominee)

Tony is a governance professional, experienced chair, board director, committee member and executive, facilitator for the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Principal of Thoughtpost Governance.

For over 30 years, he has been a board director of not for profit and public entities operating across diverse sectors including health, secondary and tertiary education, vocational training, arts, children’s services and alpine resort management.

In addition to being a board director of BHI, he currently chairs a large national provider community based mental services (Neami) and Moreland Affordable Housing; board director of VRQA and a member of the Commission for Children and Young People’s ARC.

Laura Macpherson

Laura Macpherson is an ambitious and dynamic executive leader. With a domestic and international career spanning Government, top ASX-100 companies, the VET sector, and strategic advisory, Laura has a unique perspective derived from strategic consultancy and strong leadership that ensures solutions are practicable and implemented with skilful guidance.

Now leading TAFE Gippsland, Laura is passionate about continuing and building on the organisation’s proud 95-year history of education and training excellence in the region.

An advocate for end-to-end education and training solutions, Laura is leading her team at the forefront of industry changes and challenges and adapting training to suit industry needs, leading to productive employment outcomes and driving investment throughout Gippsland.

Laura is a change champion who has delivered innovative, impactful and sustainable economic and social outcomes for community and industry stakeholders.

Liam Sloan

Liam Sloan was appointed to Provost of Federation University Australia in November 2023. Liam’s portfolio includes VET, higher education and research. Prior to this appointment, he was Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Federation TAFE.

Liam has a strong reputation as an experienced strategic leader with a track record of delivering results and building strong teams. He is a skilled communicator capable of engaging stakeholders in meaningful dialogue and building trust and respect amongst colleagues.

Growing up in southwest Scotland and commencing his working life as a chef, Liam had also achieved international success in badminton before moving into senior leadership and management roles across a number of UK colleges and then moving into senior director and CEO roles in New Zealand NMIT.

Liam’s management focus has consistently been on people leadership and empowerment of his leadership teams. He has a sound record of improving team performance and transforming lives; an approach he brings to his role at Federation University to ensure that Federation continues to excel for graduate employability outcomes and student support.