2020 Victorian Training Awards - Virtual Events Series


This year's Victorian Training Awards’ announcements have concluded.  Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!

Videos for all the presentations are available on the following social platforms:

• Twitter
• LinkedIn
• Facebook

Large Training Provider of the Year

  • Winner: South West TAFE
  • Other finalists: GOTAFE and Box Hill Institute

Industry Collaboration Award

  • Winner: SuniTAFE and Chaffney Aged Care
  • Other finalists: Swinburne University of Technology and Federation TAFE

Apprentice of the Year

  • Winner: Shona McGuigan, Cert III in Plumbing, South West TAFE
  • Other finalists: Joel Handcock, Cert III in Electrotechnology, Bendigo TAFE

 Trainee of the Year

  • Winner: Nicole Barrow, Box Hill Institute
  • Other finalists: Nicholas Steer, Chisholm Institute, and Tamara Eldridge, RMIT

 Vocational Student of the Year

  • Winner: Simon Watts, Diploma of Community Services, Wodonga Institute of TAFE
  • Other finalists: Bethany Peele, Diploma of Fashion Design & Merchandising, Kangan Institute

 School-based Apprentice or Trainee of the Year

  • Winner: Van Sui Thawng, Cert III in Electrotechnology Electrician, Box Hill Institute
  • Other finalists: Darian Burgess, Cert III in Carpentry,  Swinburne University of Technology & Callum Howden, Cert III in Airconditioning & Refrigeration, MEGT & GOTAFE

 Koorie Student of the Year

  • Winner: Matthew Atkinson, Cert IV in Community Services, VACSAL
    Other finalists: Elva Smerotkins, Cert III Commercial Cookery, SuniTAFE

Teacher/Trainer of the Year

  • Winner: Kevin Nunn - TAFE Gippsland
  • Other finalists: Marina McGrath - Bendigo Kangan Institute & Torin Coakley - Bendigo TAFE

Inclusive Training Provider of the Year

  • Winner: GOTAFE
  • Other finalists: Box Hill Institute

Category award winners received $5,000 in prize money and a 2020 Victorian Training Award trophy. 

The VTA is proud to be a Major Sponsor of the Industry Collaboration Award 2020.

For more information about the Awards, go to the Victorian Training Awards website


Tags: news